Write Review
4.7
SUPERB!
  • User Friendly
    4.7
  • Support
    4.7
  • Features
    4.6
  • Reliability
    4.7
  • Pricing
    4.7

Avg. score per month

Write Review
Visit Hostinger

Hostinger Reviews and Expert Opinion

Pricing Range

Shared Hosting CA$1.76 - CA$5.04
VPS CA$4.99 - CA$49.27
Cloud Hosting CA$12.62 - CA$88.45
Website Builder CA$3.66 - CA$4.93

Availability

99.9% Uptime

Server Locations

Michael Van

Pinned Review

Michael Van,
5.0
Just moved all my sites over to Hostinger, I love how their c-panel actually works! Speed has been great too, although it was a bit slow when they had me on European servers, I had to ask to be moved to US servers. That should of been setup by default when you buy from the US.

Reviews

Review Language
Show More
jose hernandez
jose hernandez from United States,

Terrible TOS or offshore management

1.0
Terrible TOS or offshore management
August 24th, 2021

Service was OK for a few months, most of the tech support requests were answered with "Here is a page how to do it, do it yourself". Lucky I was able to make my own change...Read Mores.

We host reviews to businesses and people who work for government and the courts.
A dishonest party did not like that we listed their work info (which we copied from their work website)
Thus the dishonest party claimed we posted "private info of a person" to our pages (untrue, in fact this info is all over Google with Google reviews.
We sent screenshots and links to where this info was copied from

However Hostinger ignored us, did not respond, they just suspended our account, this happened several times for 2 domains, all the same complaint and issues. They claimed we violated their TOS and pointed to "terror" as what we did to this person.

We had no choice but to move our sites and domains, where "the next host had no problem". I think part of the problem is Hostinger staff have poor English ability so they did not understand what they were told and instead of trying to understand they just agreed with the dishonest party and suspended their own customers account.

We have written several emails and messages to ask for a refund for the unused services but they ignore us and come back with silly, "you are right" but we did what he had to do BS.

While they get most of their clients from low balling low prices, the custom Cpanel set up is a nightmare and used to stop you from migration away from them. Things are not in normal places and it's over complicated not better than Cpanel.

Once they know you're not happy they ignore you

Tip for consumers:
They will bill extra for each SSL, Not offer Tech support, instead send you to their document pages to figure it out on your own.

Premium Shared Hosting

.com
Auto renewal enabled

Active

12 months

2021-11-24

-13%
$107.88

More actions
Domain


Auto renewal enabled

Active

12 months

2021-12-12

$12.99

More actions
Domain Privacy Protection


Auto renewal enabled

Active

12 months

2021-12-12

-28%
$5.00

More actions
SSL Instal

Products used:
Premium shared hosting
SSL certs
Cloudflare Protection
Domain registration
Less
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Dear Jose,

Thank you for the feedback. It is unfortunate that our Terms of Usage did not meet your expectations.

We have analyzed your situation regarding the legal base of the information stored on the website and concluded...Read More that it does meet our ToS. Our team understands the frustration from your side; therefore, it was never our intention to deteriorate our partnership. However, here at Hostinger, we seek friendly and secure Internet, and we were eager to consider both parties' interests. Consequently, after a thorough analysis, we will refund the unused funds to fulfil your needs.

It is truly sad that you did not enjoy the usage of hPanel; it is built on customers' feedback, and we would love to hear more about your difficulties. If you have a free minute, please drop us an email at quality@hostinger.com, and we will wholly note your feedback and help you out with the migration!

If, by any chance, someday in the future, you will give us a second chance, we will do everything in our power to upscale your experience. As we offer free SSL Certificates and paid ones, and we are continuously improving our Customer Success team's skills.

Our team is wishing you all the best!

Sincerely,
Team Hostinger
Less
Hazel Brown
Hazel Brown from Trinidad and Tobago,

Worst Hosting Ever

2.0
This is about the worst host i ever signed up with. The Customer Service response time is very poor. You will wait over an hour each time you contact for any help. Presently as I write this review I have been holding on for TWO H...Read Moreours for a response. Their shared plan the speed is terrible. Brand new website with optimized images very little bells and whistles takes over a minute to load.
The price is cheap, so I guess that what you get a cheap quality product and service. Never again.
Less
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Dear Hazel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. We encourage every customer to give us honest feedback, and we appreciate it a lot because it motivates us to evolve and improve.

We would like to apolo...Read Moregize for your disappointment with us, as our main priority is to provide the best services and ensure the happiness of all our customers.

Our primary goal right now is to upscale your experience with us. Thus, we have located your account and contacted you personally for further steps towards a better service experience. Once you have a minute, please login into your Hostinger account, and let's chat!

For the time being, we would like to assure you that we are constantly welcoming new Customer Success agents who are eager to complete training and become the best specialist in the market. Also, we are implementing new workflows for a quicker initial response from our team.

Thank you so much for your patience and understanding.

Sincerely,
Team Hostinger
Less
Ranu Jain
Ranu Jain from India,
Moved from Linode

Good? service I am happy with this company

5.0
Hello..

I buy a Plan for start-up my Business Good? deal and offers.... I Host This website here... Jankariseekho.in
& promodapk.in

I Reveal my site Check website Best ?? speed

Best Performance Thanku Hostinger
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Hello, Ranu,

Oh, fantastic news! If you need any assistance, just let us know. Our team is glad to be a tiny part of your online success!

Best wishes,
Team Hostinger
Rudi Mentär
Rudi Mentär from United States,

Very good and fast responding Hoster in terms of abuse

5.0
Hello,
As the world is also with bad content Hostinger abuse team shall also get a credit here.
The responds time is within 1 days and 95 % of the cases will get solved in the first round.

I highly recommend this hoster as the communication in any cases is good !

Br
Rudi
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Hello, Rudi,

We are eager to create a safe and friendly environment for all Internet users! Our team is delighted to know that we are moving in the right direction. Thank you for sharing!

Sincerely,
Team Hostinger
Rudi Mentär
Rudi Mentär,
Always thankful and appreciated to have such good hoster.which are caring

Keep up the good work and this time you get a big "Thank you" !
Muhammad Usman
Muhammad Usman from Pakistan,

Poor customer support

2.0
Waited more than 2 hours to chat with support but no one responds. It happens many times.
The email service was not working so i was trying to contact live chat support. trying from 2 days but they did not respond.
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Dear Muhammad,

Thank you for your review; our team truly appreciates you bringing this situation to our attention!

Our Customer Success team is here for you, and it seems unique that you did not receive the needed help. Th...Read Moreus, we are eager to solve this situation as soon as possible.

At the moment, we cannot locate your account with us to review the case and upscale your experience promptly. Would you be able to contact us via mail at quality@hostinger.com? This way, we will have all the information to assist you.

We are looking forward to hearing from you, Muhammad!

All the best,
Team Hostinger
Less
Muhammad Usman
Muhammad Usman,
Please don't lie, It's not a unique case. On different blogs and platforms people are sharing similar experiences
Parvez Pathan
Parvez Pathan from India,

hostinger.in is providing very bad support & very services

1.0
I have purchased cloud hosting "professional" plan with Dedicated IP Address,Dedicated Resources with 24/7 dedicated support.

1. Hosting Company(hostinger.in) is not providing 24/7 dedicated support, when i am requesting for su...Read Morepport on live chat they are not replying even after 24 hours.
2. Hosting Company(hostinger.in) is not providing Dedicated IP Address.

My Details:
Name : Md Parvez
Mail Id : parvez786.97@gmail.com
Less
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Dear Parvez,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We genuinely hope that the explanation below will clear all your doubts, and you will give us a second chance to prove that we are worthy of your time.

We wou...Read Moreld like to assure, that even though you had to wait a while longer, our Customer Success team always makes sure that your concern is solved and you are provided with all the information you may need. We truly care about our customers and are always working towards both our service and customer support improvements. For this reason, our team is constantly welcoming new specialists who are eager to become the best Customer Success agents in the market!

Regarding the dedicated IP address, Each Cloud hosting plan includes a free dedicated IP that is not shared with other users on the same hosting environment. Thus, you are safe from having your site affected by IP blacklist due to other webmasters’ actions.

If you have any other questions, we are more than happy to discuss them all together. Thank you for your patience and time!

All the best,
Team Hostinger
Less
Md Parvez
Md Parvez,
Still you are making fool, Dedicated IP means every domains need to have different IP address, Still you are laying, every time we are waiting for support but you are not supporting
Sudhir Sharma
Sudhir Sharma from India,

I also had a bad experience with hostinger

1.0
They not inform about renewals and then automatically charge your account with 40x of the pricing you have paid first time . So that's why not go with hostinger.
Royal
Royal,
Hey,

They do send a notification on your email ID regarding the expiry stating that the hosting is about to expire in so an so days.

Keep checking your emails.
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Dear Sudhir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We genuinely hope that the explanation below will clear all your doubts, and we may successfully continue our partnership.

Once the domain expires, it immediat...Read Moreely enters the grace period and after the domain has entered a grace period, it is more difficult to redeem it, and you would have to pay an extra fee. Therefore, for your convenience, the auto-renewal option is enabled automatically when the domain is purchased. Such service is essential for the website to continue its work without any downtime.

Nonetheless, every customer can always turn off the auto-renewal function through hPanel > Billing > Auto Renew. We wish to assure you that if you turn off the auto-renewal, we will never add it back without your permission.

Also, we want you to be completely up to date about the upcoming payments. For this reason, we send email notifications about the upcoming renewals.

Our team is always ready to assist you and ensure that each question is answered. Please feel free to contact us at any time if you have any more questions.

Sincerely,
Team Hostinger
Less
Pranjal
Pranjal,
I don't know that auto renew option is automatically enabled so that's why i am not able to turn off and please give me my refund of domain name
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Hello, Pranjal,

Thank you for the inquiry!

Please get in touch with us via mail at support@hostinger.com or directly from your account. This way, we will be able to review your situation. Thanks!
Michele G
Michele G from Switzerland,

I had a bad experience

1.6
I had a bad experience, they do not inform you about payments deadlines and then they want to charge you extra money to recover the domain. Maybe quality is ok and so, but in general very bad user experience.
Carlos Mayorga
Carlos Mayorga,
Totalmente de acuerdo muy mala experiencia
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Hola, Carlos,

Lamentamos saber que algo salió mal, pero nos gustaría investigar y brindar soluciones para mejorar tu experiencia con nosotros.

Si encuentras un minuto libre, envíanos un correo electrónico a quality@hostinger...Read More.com con más detalles sobre tu situación.

¡Nuestro equipo esta aquí para ayudar!

Sinceramente,
El Equipo de Hostinger
Less
Edo Garcia
Edo Garcia,
Volvio y me paso con otro dominio http://crediconstrucciones.com/ no llevaba vencido 15 dias si no desde Expires on 2021-06-29 y ya lo borraron, lo normal son 30 dias, perjudican grandemente las empresas, mas en estos tiempos de p...Read Moreandemia,que a veces no tenomos la plata lista para pagar, que desgraciados, es con el unico registrado que pasa eso, con godaddy nunca pasaLess
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Hola, Edo,

Gracias por comunicarte con nosotros y brindarnos detalles para examinar la situación.

Nuestro equipo pudo ubicar tu cuenta para revisar el caso. Por lo tanto, parece que tu dominio ha entrado en una etapa de rede...Read Morención. Una vez que el dominio ingresa al período de canje, se requiere una tarifa especial para recuperar y renovar tu dominio.

También puedes permitir que tu dominio se elimine y vuelva a estar disponible para su compra. Una vez que suceda, podrás comprar el dominio por el precio predeterminado.

Te dejamos un mensaje en tu cuenta de Hostinger y nuestro equipo estará esperando amablemente a que vayas a chatear con nosotros. ¡Encontremos una solución que satisfaga tus necesidades!

Atentamente,
El Equipo de Hostinger
Less
Hostinger
Hostinger,
Dear Michele,

Our team highly appreciates your feedback. Your fulfillment is an essential matter to us, and we are eager to improve upon your insights.

In order to provide more information regarding your described situation,...Read More we would need a little bit more information. Would you be kind enough and contact us via mail at quality@hostinger.com? Our team is eager to locate your account with us and review the situation.

We are looking forward to chatting with you!

Best regards,
Team Hostinger
Less
Bruno Mirchevski

Expert Review

Bruno Mirchevski

Last Update | September 2021

Monthly Update - September 2021

Hosting Plans Shared Web Hosting, Cloud Hosting, WordPress Hosting, cPanel Hosting, VPS Hosting, Minecraft Hosting, CyberPanel VPS Hosting
Top Features 99.99% Uptime; Automated Backups; WordPress Acceleration; Unlimited Bandwidth, Subdomains, Disk Storage and Email Accounts; Drag-and-Drop Website Builder; 24/7/365 Customer Support; 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
Customer Support Ticketing System; Live Chat; Report Abuse; Knowledge Base

 

During September, Hostinger:

  • Juicy Summer Deal for Web Hosting: A free .com domain for the first year and a free SSL certificate with all annual premium web hosting plans

During August, Hostinger:

  • Had 52 incidents in total, including emergency server maintenance, degraded backup server performance, hPanel order usage section maintenance, order usage data inaccuracy, etc.
  • Juicy Summer Deal for web hosting: A free .com domain for the first year and a free SSL certificate with all annual premium web hosting plans
  • Partnered with CoinGate to expand opportunities in crypto payments
  • Got recommended by Neil Patel as the Best Web Hosting Provider in 2021
  • Rebuilt a school to improve the quality of education for a local community with Niagahoster

During July, Hostinger:

  • Had 47 incidents in total, including emergency server maintenance, degraded performance, mail service interruptions, elevated Cloudflare errors, etc.
  • Bitcatcha.com and Quicksprout.com! listed Hostinger as the #1 web hosting provider in 2021

During June, Hostinger:

  • An anniversary deal offering a free .com domain, premium plan for over 12 months, with a free SSL
  • Hosted an open day for customers

During May, Hostinger:

  • Didn’t issue any new features or updates
  • Has completed scheduled maintenance, incurred and resolved several incidents

Hostinger has a cost of only $0.99 for its beginner package if you purchase a 48-month plan.
Hostinger offers its own hPanel, which is excellent.
You get a custom website builder known as Zyro from Hostinger.
You can migrate your previous website to this host provider with ease.

Read More

8.8
SUPERB!
Rated by Bruno Mirchevski
  • User Friendly
    8
  • Support
    9
  • Features
    9
  • Reliability
    9
  • Pricing
    9

Screenshots

When it comes to choosing the best hosting provider, it all really depends on the kind of person you are. You see, when I began my journey within the online world of hosting, I was cheap. And I mean, really cheap. Of course, there’s always a golden ratio of price versus performance, and well, when you are just starting out, you are ideally working for something that gets the job done initially, and you think to yourself, I’ll just upgrade later on.

Now, at the time, there weren’t that many hosting providers out there, and the ones that fit into my budget were generally lacking many of the features I actually ended up needing and forced my hand into paying more to get the full experience.

As such, today, we’ll be looking into Hostinger, a hosting provider that offers monthly hosting for $0.99!?

hostinger 1

I cannot even pay for parking for 99 cents, so it genuinely piqued my curiosity, and I just had to test out each part of it to see if it actually delivered on its promises.

Now, obviously, you have more expensive packages, and these are only this price when you get a 48-month subscription, with it being $2.99 a month when you renew it after the first purchase; however, that is still a low cost, even by my standards at the time when my journey began. So even if this hosting provider is 50% of what it claims to be, this is a sweet deal that cannot be missed; as such, let us begin.

Finding Value in the Bargain Bin

When we discuss Hostinger, the elephant in the room is the fact that it is literally one of the cheapest options out there when it comes to web hosting, and not many other companies out there, especially top of the line ones come even close to having such a cheap price tag.

While this offer may seem too good to be true, the reality of the matter is that, if you want these prices, you must commit to annual plans on Hostinger, which means that once they get you, you’re staying with them for quite a long time.

Of course, this sounds brilliant; not only are you getting cheap hosting, but you won't have to look for alternatives anytime soon, right? This is the case if the service is actually good, to begin with, and this is due to the fact that the services in question live up to your expectations.

Think about it, what are you looking for, fast speeds, high processing power, huge bandwidth, a large amount of ram?

As a beginner, you probably are not quite sure how much of this you might need, so the obvious decision in this case to make would be to start off with the cheapest plan and work your way up if you ever need to make an upgrade.

Keep in mind that as you move up the pricing ladder, you won’t have a deal that is quite as solid as the sign-up offers, so with that out of the way, let’s dig deep inside of the world of Hostinger.

hPanel

hostinger 1

From the very second you sign up for an account, and purchase a plan, you are greeted by the hPanel.

Here you have a variety of sections, including:

  • Home
  • Hosting
  • Emails
  • Domains
  • Servers
  • SSL
  • Website Builder
  • Billing
  • Help
  • Store

We will take a deep dive into each of these features individually, so sit back, relax, and get yourself a drink because this will be one long adventure. Hopefully, by the end of it, you will know if this less-than-a-parking-ticket hosting plan is right for you! If not, you can always go out and park somewhere, that’s cool too, go do some shopping have the best life, but be well protected.

When it comes to comparing hPanel vs cPanel, cPanel offers simplicity, software installers, many hosting providers use it and it has a tested control panel, however, it has a high cost associated with it, while hPanel offers a great graphical interface, is convenient to use, is simple to use and allows you to upgrade the control panel. The disadvantage here is that not as many hosting providers offer it, so it has fewer users.

Hosting

hostinger 1

On the hosting tab, you need to set up the Single Shared Hosting.

To do this, click on “Set Up”.

hostinger 1

Here you will be greeted by a lady and her cat. My cat jumped in on my laptop the moment he noticed this cat; thank you, Hostinger, for raising my bonding level with Bob.

You can either Buy a Domain Name or use an Existing Domain name that you have purchased on another registrar on the subsequent menu. Keep in mind that some packages of Hostinger even come with a domain name free of charge, so you can always select that package from the ground up if this is your first website.

Enter your website address if you have one, or create a new one, and click on next.

Here you can build a new website, migrate your pre-existing website, or start from scratch.

hostinger 1

Here you will be asked if you have the experience, or if you have ever built a website in the past. Now, since I’m obviously an expert, I’ll click on the “It’s my first-time” section just to see what they’d teach people who aren’t.

hostinger 1

hostinger 1

Now, apparently, Hostinger has its own website builder, which is quite new, but the chances are high that you are building your website in WordPress to begin with, so I’m just going to select WordPress for the time being. The good thing about this is that your choices are varied, even if you are inexperienced, so give both options a shot, who knows, Hostinger might have re-invented website building.

hostinger 1

If you are uninitiated, these are WordPress themes, and the specific ones that Hostinger recommends based on their own network and server speed for optimal results, or maybe they are from theme manufacturers who’ve paid to be on this list. We’ll never know, and it doesn’t even matter as you can always change them, but for the time being, just pick one that you like.

hostinger 1

That’s all there is to it, click on “Finish Setup” and you are good to go.

hostinger 1

Let the virtual workers known as bots do the heavy lifting for you.

Once it has been installed, you can go to the “Manage” section on the right side of the screen.

Here you’ll have multiple menus.

WordPress

Here you’ll have access to Dashboard and Plugins.

hostinger 1

Beginning with the dashboard, we have:

  • Force HTTPS
  • Flush Cache
  • Maintenance mode
  • WordPress Updates
  • Speed & Security including WebArx, LiteSpeed, SSL Certificate and Cloudflare.
  • You can even install another WordPress.

Litespeed offers a lot more speed to the website when comparing it to alternatives such as Apache and W3 Total Cache, and after deploying it, you will see noticeable performance improvements. Many of the WordPress websites saw an improvement, and the LiteSpeed engineers even created their own LiteSpeed Cache Plugin for WordPress. It even features SSL/TLC, QUIC and integrated security features that are enabled by default.

hostinger 1

You also have a clear view of the PHP Version as well as the version of WordPress.

On the Plugins tab, you can review your installed and active plugins.

hostinger 1

By default, you’ll have a few installed, but you can enable or disable them as you see fit. It’s all nice and cozy.

Order

Here you have access to Order Usage, Renew, Upgrade and Set Main Domain. hostinger 1

On order usage, you can review the CPU usage, the Memory usage, the Processes and the Entry Processes.

hostinger 1

On the Renew tab, you can renew your subscription.

hostinger 1

Upgrade, as the name might imply, gives you the chance to upgrade your package. You can upgrade to a better, shared hosting service, or even a dedicated hosting service.

Each of them has its own benefits, and this decision is ultimately based on your website content, function and level of traffic.

hostinger 1

Once you click on “View Plans”, you can see all of your upgrade options.

On the shared plans page, you have:

hostinger 1

On the Cloud Plans, you have:

hostinger 1

On the set main domain, well, you can set your new main domain. This feature has a simple function, and that is to re-name your hosting account name. It has no influence on the website files themselves.

Accounts

On the accounts section, you have two options, including Details and Change Password.

hostinger 1

The details section showcases your nameservers, website details, e-mail details, and file upload details.

Change password, as the name might imply, simply allows you to change your password. It’s that simple.

Emails

Emails are where the fun begins! Here you have email accounts, email forwarders, autoresponders, Edit Mx Record options, and Mail Service Control.

hostinger 1

Now, when it comes to email accounts, you can purchase a business email subscription that allows you to create up to 50 emails for $0.99 and offers email storage of up to 10GB per account.

All you have to do is enter the email and password.

hostinger 1

Email forwarders re-send an email message delivered to one email address to another email address. You can create up to one forwarder.

hostinger 1

Email autoresponders, as the name might imply are in a way scripts that are automatically sent to people who send you an email. You need to create an email account before setting up an autoresponder.

An MX or a mail exchanger entry tells a client what server receives a mail sent to a domain name. To get this email delivered to another server, you need to edit the current pre-existing MX record by using this form.

hostinger 1

When it comes to mail service control, you can enable managed Sendmail services and managed SMTP services.

hostinger 1

Domains

You have the subdomains, parked domains, add website section, redirects section, and Cloudflare section.

On the subdomains tab, you can create a new subdomain.

hostinger 1

On the parked domains section, you can park a new domain on top of your pre-existing one.

hostinger 1

On the add website section, you can add a new website, by adding the domain name and password.

hostinger 1

On the redirects page, you can create a redirect.

For those who are uninitiated, a redirect page is a way through which you can send users as well as search engines to a different URL from the one they originally requested. This uses a 301 redirect type.

hostinger 1

Finally, you have the Cloudflare control section. Here you can speed up your website and protect it against DDoS attacks for a fee.

hostinger 1

Website

On the website section, you have:

  • The auto installer
  • The import website function
  • The Migrate Website function
  • The Error Pages
  • The Learn to Code Section
  • The SEO Toolkit

Auto installer enables you to automatically install WordPress, WooCommerce, Joomla and other CMS services for your website.

Hostinger

The import website function allows you to import your website from a previously downloaded archive from another web hosting provider.

Hostinger

The Migrate Website function allows you to migrate your previous website onto the Hostinger hosting service. You can do so by requesting a hosting migration.

Hostinger

Here you have a few migration options, including:

WordPress Migration

Hostinger

cPanel Migration

Hostinger

Other Control Panel

Hostinger

Other FTP migration

Hostinger

This offers you as a user a lot of flexibility when it comes to migration.

Error pages showcase which of your pages are showcasing users some kind of an error so you can resolve them.

Learn to Code is an option in collaboration with BitDegree.org that teaches you everything you need to know about coding as a service.

The SEO toolkit helps you discover and manage your website through Search Engine Optimization.

Files

The files tab has a file manager, a backups function and FTP accounts section.

The file management section allows you to manage the files within your website, this includes both the system files as well as the individual images and documents attached to the website itself.

Backups allow you, as the name might imply, to generate backups and restore previously generated backups; this is an excellent feature for people who want to try out new WordPress plugins and experiment without the risk of breaking their website completely.

FTP accounts allow you to set up multiple accounts. FTP accounts are used to upload and manage files on the website.

Hostinger

Databases

When it comes to the Databases section, you have MySQL Databases, phpMyAdmin, and Remote MySQL.

You can create a new MySQL Database here, and once you do so, it will appear on List Current MySQL Databases and Users, where you will be able to manage it freely.

phpMyAdmin allows you to access the database, and you do so by clicking on Enter phpMyAdmin.

Before you can connect to these databases remotely, the IP working through remote connections needs to be allowed on your account’s side. To allow this remote connection, you need to access your hPanel and navigate to the Remote MySQL menu in the Databases section and create a remote database connection.

You will see the IP (IPv4 or IPv6) field here, and you need to fill in the IP addresses from which the remote connection will end up being initiated. You can connect from any IP by clicking on the “Any Host” checkbox.

Advanced

Advanced has a multitude of features, including DNS Zone Editor, PHP Configuration, Cron Jobs, PHP Info, Cache Manager, GIT and SSL.

The DNS Zone Editor allows you to quickly and efficiently change DNS records for your domains.

DNS servers create DNS records in order to provide important information about a domain or hostname, specifically the current IP address. The most common DNS record is the Address Mapping Record which stores a hostname and its corresponding IPv4 addresses.

Hostinger

PHP Configuration essentially allows you to change the PHP Version, the PHP extensions and the PHP options.

Hostinger

Hostinger

The Cron Job menu allows you to create a new Cron Job.

Hostinger

A cron job is used for scheduling tasks to run on the server and they are most commonly used for automating system maintenance and administration.

PHP Info shows you everything you need to know about your PHP configuration.

Hostinger

Cache Manager, as the name implies, manages your cache in order to speed up your website. Here you can enable automatic cache. This improves SEO.

Hostinger

The Git Menu allows you to create a new repository and deploy an application directly from the public Git repository.

Hostinger

The SSL menu allows you to set up your SSL certificate, either through an automatic setup or through a Custom SSL.

Hostinger

Other

The Other tab gives you access to:

  • Password Project Directories
  • IP Manager
  • Hotlink Protection
  • Folder Index Manager
  • Fix File Ownership
  • Activity Log
  • Reset Account
  • Deactivate Account

Password Protect Directories allow you to keep your directories secure, by setting up an individual password to each and every directory.

Hostinger

Simply select the directory you want to protect and enter both the username and the password.

The IP Manager allows you to allow IP addresses as well as block IP addresses.

Hostinger

Hotlink Protection allows you to prevent other websites from directly linking to files and pictures on your website. They will only be able to link to a file or an image that you do not specify.

Hostinger

The Folder Index Manager allows you to set up the indexing type.
This can be:

  • Default system settings
  • Fancy indexing (filename and description)
  • No index
  • Standard indexing (filename only)

Hostinger

The Fix File Ownership menu allows you to resolve any issues with editing or deleting files that you might have accidentally deleted from the public_html folder.

Hostinger

The Activity Log menu allows you to see what has occurred within the server throughout a certain time frame.

Hostinger

Reset Account, as the name obviously implies, allows you to reset your account. Here you can also stop running processes. This will allow you to refresh your account with default settings and remove all your account files. This change is permanent.

Hostinger

The Deactivate account many gives you the opportunity to cancel your hosting account either immediately or at your expiration date.

Hostinger

Emails

Now, when it comes to the email plan, it is typically generated with your hosting, however, you can create a new email plan for, you guessed it, $0.99 a month! Hostinger is literally the dollar store when you think about it.

Hostinger

Hostinger

Hostinger

What I love here is that you have plenty of options on the sidebar. This allows for easy navigation. Here you can set up email accounts, email forwarders, autoresponders, edit MX records and access the mail service control center.

In simpler words, you have everything you might initially need, and you are getting a solid deal for a dollar.

Now, the domains section showcases your domains, you can also transfer a domain here, get help, or even get a new domain. That’s all there is to it, so we’ll move along to servers.

VPS Servers

Okay, so Virtual Private Servers are essentially servers that act as virtual machines which are sold as a service by an internet hosting service.

These virtual private servers mimic a dedicated server environment within a shared server. VPS hosting is popular due to the lower costs associated with it when comparing it to dedicated hosting. It also provides better reliability, security, and performance than shared hosting.

Hostinger

This is all fine and dandy, but since we only have a dollar to work with, we’ll be carrying on for the time being. I can buy an entire burger for $3.95, you’re not taking away my burger, Hostinger!

However, if you notice that your website is getting quite a bit of traffic, and you do require that extra horsepower, “Plan 1” offers a solid deal on the cheap side, giving you a single 2.4GHz core processor, 1 GB of ram and a 20 GB SSD with 1000 GB bandwidth.

SSL Certificates

SSL certificates essentially enable your website to go from HTTP to HTTPS. Don’t worry if that sounded confusing, it did to me as well. But, to understand it on a deeper level, an SSL certificate is a data file that is hosted on the website’s server. These make SSL/TLC encryption possible and they contain a website’s public key, its identity, and other information.

Okay, so all of this in simple language means that it won't be in plain text when you transfer data from your pc to the website, but it will actually end up being encrypted, and nobody can understand it as a result. This is excellent if you want to make an account or a purchase on a website, as it keeps your credit card information and passwords secure. So the next time you want to get something online, check if it has an SSL certificate. Oh and yeah, definitely enable this on your site if you want to be trustworthy.

Hostinger

Once you click on “Setup”, click on “Install SSD”.

Hostinger

Bada-bing you are now secure, Hostinger makes things that simple.

Website Builder

This is a custom-build website builder from the Hostinger company known as Zyro.

Hostinger

It offers a wide range of features, makes website building simple, and is very similar to drag and drop website builders out there such as Wix and Squarespace. If you are a fan of these, go right ahead and use them, as it’s a nice little feature you get for your buck.

Performance, Speed, and Uptime

As you are well aware, uptime is a crucial quality when it comes to web hosting. And that’s exactly why I was so disappointed to see that Hostinger doesn’t keep its promise. Instead, it provides for an inconsistent uptime, an average of 99.75%.

When it comes to speeds, it’s quite the opposite. Hostinger is better in this regard than most of its competitors. The reason behind this trend is its well-established server network with locations all across the USA, Asia, and Europe (UK), each of which is reportedly connected to a 1000 Mbps connection. In turn, this ensures stable loading times.

Level of Support at Hostinger

Yet another crucial feature is customer support, as it can either make or break a service. And I can say that Hostinger at first managed to impress me in this regard. It provides a multilingual customer support team with a live chat and integrated Intercom as their primary support system.

Still, you can only access the live chat feature if you are logged on into their account.

For general inquiries before your purchase, you can use the ticketing system or knowledge base divided into three categories, website, domains, and general. You might not get an instant response, but it will undoubtedly be a helpful one.

Of course, I went on and contacted their live chat support team on my account. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed. It took the agent over half an hour to respond to my request, which essentially isn’t what you expect when thinking of instant support. The saga didn’t end when the agent initially responded. At this point, I at least expected the conversation to go as usual. But, I had to wait approximately three minutes in between replies, which I honestly find terrible.

Security and Backups

Onto security, Hostinger’s servers have advanced security modules, such as mod_security, Suhosin PHP hardening, PHP open_basedir protection, and others. Essentially, they allow the company to guarantee the highest security level available today.

Furthermore, you can expect Free SSL, CDN, WordPress Acceleration and Cloudflare, SSH Access, daily and weekly backups.

Pricing

When it comes to the pricing, you have plenty of packages, all of which offer different goodies.

  • You have the Shared Web Hosting section where you can buy a single plan for $0.99/month, a premium plan for $1.99/month, and a business plan for $3.99/month.

Hostinger

  • You have the Cloud Hosting Plans section where you can buy a Startup plan for $9.99/month, a Professional plan for $18.99/month, and a Global plan for $69.99/month.

Hostinger

  • You have the VPS Hosting plans section where you can buy VPS1 for $3.95/month, the VPS2 plan for $8.95/month, the VPS3 plan for $12.95/month, and the VPS4 plan for $15.95/month.

Hostinger

  • Then you have the Windows VPS Hosting plans that start at $26.00/month for Windows 1, $62.00/month for Windows 2, $120.00/month for Windows 3, and $250.00/month for Windows 4.

Hostinger

  • Email hosting starts at $0.99/month for the business plan and remains at $2.49/month for the enterprise plan.

Hostinger

Summarizing Hostinger

Now, I’m fully aware that this review was a mouthful to read, to say the least, but if you made it this far, congratulations, you yourself are on the path of becoming a host service expert.

Hostinger is the perfect hosting provider for people who are just starting out and are on a budget. I wished for this kind of service when I was starting out, and from my perspective, you are genuinely getting a lot for your money here. It offers decent speeds and knowledgeable support staff. However, you can experience some downtime, especially if your website gets high in traffic and your package is not up to the standard it requires.

In my opinion, this hosting provider deserves to be experienced by people who are genuinely warry of their budget and expenses and serves to be a great starting point for people who are, for the very first time, entering the world of online website hosting.

Read Less

Hostinger pros

  • You get a free domain name with specific packages
  • It has a low-cost option starting at $0.99
  • You get a wide range of features for the cost

Hostinger cons

  • Slower than the average response time for their support team
  • Average performance results when it comes to speed
  • Uptime that is not as reliable as the competition

Hostinger Prices, Plans & Features - 2021

Shared Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space Bandwidth Panel Number of Sites Price Score
Starter 30 GB 1 TB cPanel 1 CA$1.76 9.4 Details
Premium 100 GB Unlimited cPanel 100 CA$3.27 9.4 Details
Business 200 GB Unlimited cPanel 100 CA$5.04 9.2 Details

VPS Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM OS Price Score
plan 1 20 GB 1 core 1 GB CA$4.99 9.0 Details
plan 2 40 GB 2 cores 2 GB CA$11.31 9.6 Details
plan 3 60 GB 3 cores 3 GB CA$16.37 9.4 Details
plan 4 80 GB 4 cores 4 GB CA$20.16 8.0 Details
plan 5 120 GB 6 cores 6 GB CA$30.27 6.3 Details
plan 6 160 GB 8 cores 8 GB CA$49.27 10 Details

Cloud Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM Bandwidth Price Score
Startup 200 GB 2 cores 3 GB Unlimited CA$12.62 9.1 Details
Professional 250 GB 4 cores 6 GB Unlimited CA$24.00 9.2 Details
Enterprise 300 GB 8 cores 12 GB Unlimited CA$88.45 9.9 Details

Website Builder Plans

Plan Name Space Bandwidth Features Price Score
Basic 1 GB
Connect your domain
Designer crafted templates
SSL Security
Get found with SEO
AI Tools
CA$3.66 9.7 Details
Unleashed Unlimited
Connect your domain
Designer crafted templates
SSL Security
Get found with SEO
AI Tools
Free domain for 1 year
Powerful integrations
CA$4.93 9.9 Details

Check Similar Hosting Companies:

  • Starting price
    CA$3.73 /MO
    Rating
    Money Back   45 Days
      2 coupons
    9
    Locations
    Add to Compare
    FastComet Awards
  • Starting price
    CA$1.14 /MO
    Rating
    Money Back   30 Days
      3 coupons
    3
    Locations
    Add to Compare
    Hostens Awards

Web Hosting in Compare:

Select at least 1 more company to compare
Cancel Compare